I couldn’t help it – my newest debt

April 28, 2011 at 9:08 am (things I bought, vehicle)

Remember when I said I would wait to be out of debt before I considered getting a new vehicle? Well follow me along a month ago during my weekend trip down to the Oregon Coast. I wanted a few days to get out of town, take photos (for an upcoming juried show photo submission) and have a mini-vacation.

We drove 750 miles. I had to buy 4 tanks of gas. $215 for a weekend to Oregon. Yikes! It stuck in my craw somethin’ fierce, lemme tell you! I decided on that long drive back, in which I had 6 hours to think about it, how I really really needed a vehicle that had better gas mileage. I didn’t get any dissenting comments from mr. maven, either!

As soon as I got back I started researching. I should also admit that I really truly miss my old subaru, which got totalled in an accident in 2007 (not my fault!!!). So of course, with my requirements: good mileage, rugged, able to go in the mountains, good in snow, and something that I could haul lots of crap and potentially sleep in, well, it should come as no surprise that I ended up with a 2005 Subaru Outback! It’s the prettiest green color “willow green”, has cloth seats, no sun roof, and has just been fully serviced. I ended up buying from a dealer. It cost me more, but they fully detailed it, made sure the mechanics were up to spec (after my inspection at a mechanic, they updated the brakes and did something to the transmission flush fluid or something or other). I did put a little extra, to the tune of $220, in it at the dealer’s mechanic so that it has everything clean and ready and no further maintenance will be needed for 30,000 miles (spark plugs, some other fluid changes, etch). It’s clean, scrubbed, mine, and ready for some serious backcountry trips!

Instead of my current 15/19 mileage (based on what i actually put in the tank), my new vehicle is amazing! I get 21 minimum in the neighborhood, and have gotten 29 on the highway. It’s awesome! I estimated that even if I do nothing but commute to work and do normal driving during a month, I will save $50 (about 1 full tank of gas) per month. If I do any trips, then I should save about $100/month or more. Can’t beat that!

It took me a week of research, and a week of hard looking, but I bought one for $14,800. My main requirements were that it be under 75K miles, NOT turbo (I didn’t want the maintenance, or the reduced MPG), and have heated seats. I was approved for a $40K car loan from my bank, BECU at 3.99% (not that I’d ever spend that much on a vehicle, EVER), but only had to use a portion of that. I ended up using my recent settlement money to pay $6,000 towards it (after fully funding my emergency fund back to $1000 and keeping a few hundred for something fun, yet to be determined). 

I then sold my truck to mr. maven (for him to go hunting and sleeping in – as he told me, it would be a shame to sell it when I just dumped a whole crapload of money on it recently and it has a new clutch. Mechanically it’s been very well taken care of, so it’s in great shape. I decided that any more income I get will go towards my SBA loan, instead of my car loan – which is at a slightly higher rate of 5% (plus an annual fee) – whatever I can do to pay it off quickly, the better.

So don’t be hatin’ – I got a vehicle with 100,000 fewer miles, and significantly better gas mileage (100+ additional miles per tank), and heated seats! I put myself into debt for an extra period of time, but it will be less than a year. I am pleased with my decision and have zero regrets.

That’s all from debtmaven central! Here’s to the growing garden, getting over this nasty cold keeping me home this week, and getting out hiking and the start of biking again this year. Keep healthy and get outside everyone!

7 Comments

  1. www.free-fifa15coins.com said,

    Hey there Your main web page starts up seriously slow in my situation, I am not sure who’s
    problem is that however flickr opens up extremely good.
    However , thanks for posting splendid articles. Nearly everybody who stumbled on this web site must have discovered this
    informative article honestly helpful. I am hoping I’ll be able
    to get even more awesome information and I really should complement you simply by stating you’ve done
    good work. To get more information from posts which you publish, I have
    added this url.

  2. Petra said,

    Hey there! Your website is loading slowly ,
    the site went on just like a minute or so to load, I have no idea if it is entirely me or
    perhaps your websites however google and yahoo loaded for
    me. Well, I want to appreciate you for attaching fantastic article.
    I’m sure it really has been extremely useful to user who actually visit here.
    I hope I will be able to get further incredible content and I should really flatter
    you by telling you have done awesome work. I have got you book marked
    to see blog you publish.

  3. gta5forpsp.com said,

    Hey there! Your webpage is loading slowly for me, it consumed
    just like a minute or so in order to load up, I really have no idea whether or not it’s just simply
    me or your website but twitter loaded fine for
    me. On the other hand thanks for posting wonderful article.

    I assume it has already been helpful to many people
    . This is fantastic what you have done on this site and wish to
    see a lot more cool posts from your site. Just after looking at the post,
    I’ve bookmarked the website.

  4. Cary said,

    Hi there other online sites performs good for my situation but your site
    is running steadily which actually had taken just about a minute to successfully load up, I am not
    sure if it’s my own problem or maybe web site problems.
    Nevertheless, I have to thank you so much
    for placing awesome post. I’m sure it has been incredibly useful
    to visitor who actually click here. I have to
    point out that you really have done brilliant work with this plus hope to see much more
    brilliant things through you. I now have your site saved to my bookmarks to look at blogs you post.

  5. Jesenia said,

    Hey there Google operates perfectly however your website is starting steadily which went on about a few minutes to be able
    to load up, I am not sure if it is my personal problem or
    maybe your web site problems. Well, Thanks for putting up
    a remarkably beautiful article. I’m guessing this has already been necessary
    to lots of individuals who arrived on this page.
    This one is undoubtedly excellent everything that you have concluded on this site and want to discover a
    lot more posts from your site. To get additional understanding from articles which you write-up,
    I’ve bookmarked this site.

  6. Felipe said,

    Hello there Your current web page starts up literally
    slow in my situation, I don’t know who’s issue is that although facebook opens up really fast.
    Well, Thank you for creating such type of brilliant blog post.

    Everyone who visited this web site should have
    noticed this short article absolutely helpful. I personally need to mention that you really have done amazing job with this and
    additionally expect to check out even more wonderful content from you.

    I already have you book marked to see new stuff you publish.

  7. gta5android.com said,

    Hi Your web page loads up seriously slow in my opinion, I don’t know who’s issue is that
    although facebook starts up pretty quick. Nevertheless, Thanks
    for putting up an incredibly superb blog post. Most people who actually discovered
    this website must have noticed this content absolutely beneficial.
    I am hoping I will be able to find even more awesome stuff and
    I should certainly compliment you simply by telling you have carried out
    remarkable writing. Immediately after taking a look at the blog post, I have book-marked the website.

Leave a comment