The mother of all clothes sales

January 7, 2011 at 5:45 pm (Being Frugal, things I bought) ()

Went to buy some unmentionables at Macy’s today after work and they were having the mother of all sales. I decided to ONLY go look at the steeply discounted rack and only that rack, for tops, tried them on, and found (2). I decided I would only get them if they were under $11 each. $5.50 and $7.50 each. Wowza. Then, when I was paying for my 2 unmentionables that I absolutely had to have since my last (and only) 2 pair broke on me, and the 2 shirts that were department-store brand new but selling at thrift-store prices, I spied The Sweater.

I had tried The Sweater on 2 months ago and had wanted it desperately then, but could not justify the $85 price tag. I regretfully put it back “until it went on sale.” But I hadn’t seen it since, even looking around xmas time at another location. But they had it here today and it said 60% off. Hmm, not bad! I tried it on to make sure and it was beyond fabulous (still). I checked the price and it was more like 75% off – only $21!!!!! Score. Total damage came to abourt $80. That’s more than my $50 budget, but I also returned something from last month for $35, so I guess technically I’m under my budget. Also, J gave me rent (for December) a few days ago and I haven’t yet put it in the bank, so I paid cash for everything, and it’s not technically going to hit my budget – I have some fudge factors.

I promptly called my girlfriend to go shopping there – they are having an inventory sale to clear out the old to make room for the new and half the store racks are sporting 40%, 50%, 60% or more discount signs. I could not believe my eyes. I honestly had to stop looking, turn my eyes to the pathway and literally march myself oughta there.

I came home and told J and he’s thinking of going tomorrow. I swear, you could buy an entire outfit for $15-$20 if you were careful, an entire new wardrobe for $100-$150!!! Unbelievable.

I’m actually thinking about whether or not I should go back and shop again tomorrow and really go through all the racks. Clothes are never this cheap there. Second opinions?

2 Comments

  1. The Lost Goat said,

    Resist unless there is something that you actually need for your wardrobe. I am cleaning out my closets right now and there are a ton of cute things that I bought on sale and then never wore because they weren’t really my style – they were just cute and cheap. Don’t be like me – have a plan for what you need and then get in and out.

  2. debtmaven said,

    Thanks for the advice – it helped fortify my resolve! I gave myself a number that I wouldn’t spend more than. I tried everything on, and of the items that were worth it, all of them were over that number, so I didn’t buy any. Thank you for being the voice of reason!

Leave a Reply

