Raises, the economy, and a rant about work

January 15, 2010 at 9:07 pm (work) ()

It’s been a difficult week for me. I’m in the midst of doing performance reviews for my 11 employees. I’ve written before about the people I manage and work with – it’s not a professional company, and many of the folks there have not worked in a corporate environment before. There’s a huge sense of entitlement by most of the people there (most are in their 20s and for some, this is the first “real” job that they have ever had).

I’m sure it’s no news to most of you that our economy is not doing so great. Simply having a job is something to be thankful for. I’ve had some reviews that have gone very well and pleasant. However, in a few of them, that entitlement has reared its big ugly head. Raises are not guaranteed, not when the company I work for lost money in the last 3 months. We have had no layoffs, but have had periods of 4-day work weeks. One division of our company has been on that regiment for 3 months (they are a retail branch of our business).

In fact, “coasting” or doing the minimum requirements of your job and nothing else will and has resulted in no raise at all. I’ve given a raise to every person I’ve reviewed so far (one was delayed for not doing regular required weekly paperwork – doing it every week in January will delay his raise by a month). I’ve had 3 tense, difficult reviews dealing with that feeling of being unfairly treated by not having adequate compensation. I wish they could understand that with an average 3% raise across the board, that some people just can’t be given a larger raise – the company just doesn’t have enough money to pay for it!

I have 5 more reviews to do in the next 2 business days, and 2 of them are going to be among the most difficult. But I guess that is why I get the salary that I have – managing is not all fun & games – there’s actually quite a bit of stress involved, at least right now. I just wish people would have more reasonable expectations during this economy.

This is partially why I haven’t been posting as much. My brain is a little fried after this week. I should be back to normal in another week.

Leave a Reply

