A year’s worth of spending: would anyone care?

January 11, 2010 at 2:02 pm (blog, budget) ()

I’ve been toying with the idea of posting my entire spending history for a year. In one place. “A year in the life of debtmaven.”

Would anyone care? Would it be useful? It’s interesting to see where I’ve spent my money, and how often it fluctuates in large chunks and jags. Personally, I love seeing what other people make, and how they allocate their money. One of my biggest pet peeves is hearing about how this pf blogger maxed out their 401K investments early on in the year, then fully funded their IRA for the year, and still managed to save $20K in cash, PLUS continue to pay off debt and do house repairs. Do they make $300K a year? I like to be able to compare my situation to others, but it’s hard to do without full disclosure.

I guess I’m a total voyeur. I used to love looking into people’s houses when I walked my dog at night (back when my dog was still alive). I still suffer from that desire, and in this atmosphere, I want to know all the sordid details. How much do they make, how can they keep their food under $100 for a month, what do they eat, ramen and peanut butter?

So, do you care? I probably won’t get any comments in response to this post, but if anyone’s out there and cares (or doesn’t), let me know! I’d hate to waste my time putting it together if no one wanted to read it, but I think it could be useful. And since I’m being anonymous, I have no qualms in posting details.

1 Comment

  1. jim said,

    I always like to see info on other peoples spending. If nothing else I find it interesting.

Leave a Reply

