Excited to get bills

February 16, 2009 at 12:02 pm (paying bills) (, , )

I was looking forward to and definitely very excited to receive my new credit card statement from my new Discover card on Friday. Bonus? I got my citibank statement on the same day!

Maybe it’s the list checker or the successful budgetter in me, but there’s something so satisfying about having a bill you’re expecting and being able to write that check, immediately, and send it off. So that’s what I did. I paid both bills up front, in full, immediately. Well, only the minimum payment on the Discover, since it has a 0% interest and I got it for the balance transfer.

With the changes I made in my bill paying and my budgetting cycle, as I wrote about here, I finally have enough money to pay all bills when I receive them, without having to wait for my second paycheck of the month, which I get on the 20th. My citibank card bill is due sometime between the 24th and the 31st, depending on when they feel like sending it, and that has caused some late fees and missed payments in the past, as I get it before I get paid, put it aside until I do finally get paid and have the check clear, then promptly forget to send in payment, since it has been sitting unattended for days to weeks. Expensive!!! So my latest strategy is to pay all bills when they are due, as soon as I can.

This doesn’t apply to rent – I don’t yet have enough extra saved up to pay on the 1st. Instead, I get my paycheck on the 5th, and then pay rent on the evening of the 5th or on the 6th (just in case so there’s no overdraft happening and my check gets deposited). Luckily the property manager doesn’t pick it up very quickly and often doesn’t cash it until the middle of the month.

And I know, I know, I should build up enough extra to be able to pay everything immediately, INCLUDING rent, but I haven’t gotten there yet. So technically I’m still living paycheck-to-paycheck, but with an awful lot of breathing room. So maybe I’m just excited that I can actually pay early and not have it be difficult. Either way, I feel like I’ve taken a big step in the right direction.

1 Comment

  1. CT said,

    Great blog! Good luck with reducing your debts….A reader from California

Leave a Reply

