Bought a new bread machine!

February 15, 2009 at 12:52 pm (bargains)

As I mentioned in a previous post, I decided to purchase a new breadmaker. I used to have one, and for the life of me, can’t remember why I got rid of it. It’s one of those things that you go through cycles of using, then not using, then wanting, and here’s where I am right now.

So I’ve been trolling craigslist looking for a used one in good condition (ie, it works, and the pan is clean and not crusty from being left uncleaned. Everything I found was half the original price (still high), or far away (why is it that people in rural areas of big cities sell more on craigslist??), or if it was a sweet deal, it was already sold. Darn!

So I’ve been looking off and on for about a month now. Well, today I went to goodwill to find that last piggy bank for my piggybank collection. They had a really poor choice. I wanted something for my kitty fund, so either something orange tabby colored, or a cat, or something not heinously ugly. No such luck. But they did have a big selection of breadmakers on an aisle end that caught my eye. There was one likely candidate – it was clean, still had the kneading arm, and it worked when it plugged in! Bonus? It was only $12.99. Way cheap.

Just downloaded a few manuals (the only free place that seemed to have them was a yahoo group for breadmachines). I just joined the group (for free), and was able to download a bunch of files for various models and a generic one from King Arthur flour.

Now I just have to pick up some ingredients and see if it actually works! I’m pretty hopeful – I’m expecting since it was in good shape, that it just outlived its usefulness and isn’t actually broken. Yum. I can taste that warm, fresh bread with a pat of fresh butter on it, melting in….. There’s nothing like fresh bread to wake up to in the morning, either!

4 Comments

  1. rachel said,

    I love my bread machine, and this is one of the recipes I often make in it

    Multigrain Sandwich Bread (bread machine version, 1-lb loaf)*

    Place in the cannister:

    2.1 oz. 7-grain hot cereal mix
    6.7 oz. boiling water
    1.3 oz. honey
    .7 oz. butter

    Wait until mixture is just slightly warm (~ 1 hour). Sprinkle:

    1 tsp yeast

    over the cereal mix and add:

    5 oz. bread flour
    2.5 oz. whole wheat flour

    Process in the machine just until a ball of dough forms (2 ~ 3 minutes). Stop the machine and let dough rest for 20 minutes. Add:

    1 tsp salt
    1 oz. sunflower or pumpkin seeds

    and re-start the bread machine in standard mode. The machine will do the rest.

    *All ounce measurements are by weight, not volumn. Multiply by 1.5 or 2 if your machine makes a larger loaf.

  2. Miss M said,

    What a bargain. I make bread a few times a month but no bread machine. My tiny kitchen doesn’t have the space and I imagine our waistlines would not benefit from having one! I hope you enjoy it, fresh bread with little work sounds great.

  3. debtmaven said,

    Well, the first loaf was not a complete success. I tried the recipe with the hitachi manual (it may have been a different model, but I didn’t think it would matter). It turned out really dense, and the top looks deflated, like a soufle all folded over and hardened. I think I’ll try another version with the King Arthur Flour guide – they use less flour.

    The unfortunate side effect is that my kittens were really freaked out by the machine being on between 3 and 7 AM, when they are usually running around. Oh well. I’ll try another loaf this weekend and see if I have better luck.

  4. rachel said,

    When I first got my machine, I had a similar problem. It turned out that my instant yeast didn’t rise fast enough for the machine because it was too old. Putting in more yeast helped, but the problem wasn’t really fixed until I bought some fresh.

Leave a Reply

