A quick update about this month’s debt payments

January 31, 2009 at 8:01 pm (credit cards)

It’s January 31 and I haven’t yet made any debt payments. I think I may be able to pay $100-200, but I’m going to wait until I get paid on the 5th. There are a couple reasons I haven’t been able to make any payments this month, and am not planning on making any significant dents.

The first main reason is that this is the month that  the piper’s payment is due: I have to pay for my new laptop purchased right after xmas, which I paid for on my citibank credit card. $580+tax. I then realized I had to use up my FSA account, and bought a $300 trauma first aid kit. WIth a few other expenses, that came out to a $1065 amount which I paid in full with my ginormous recent paycheck (luckily it was large or Iwould have had to carry a balance, shudder). On one hand, it’s nice to know I’m not going further into debt for the computer, but on the other, it sucks that I can’t pay down the principal on debt I’m paying interest for.

Now, I am will be getting that $300 back from the FSA claim, any day now. As soon as I do, it will go straight towards debt payment!

At least I increased my savings. It feels good to do that! I’ll be posting my budget results shortly (hey, it’s not the end of the month yet!).

Leave a Reply

