Recent expenses

January 23, 2009 at 5:30 pm (credit cards)

I just purchased a new laptop last month, and well, I just got my credit card statement. The credit card that I hadn’t planned on using (and definitely NEVER planned on ever carrying a balance on, EVER AGAIN). The amount due is $1,000. Why so high? My computer was only $600. I also realized at the end of 2008 that I had to use up my FSA deductions which was $500 for the year. I ended up buying a $300 first response trauma kit (with free shipping!). I bought it online, so I definitely wanted to use my credit card and NOT the debit card. So now I’m getting hit for the damage.

My recent paycheck was very very good due to 120 hours for 2 weeks and alot of that being over and doubletime. So I just wrote a check for the full payment, and I won’t have any interest charges on my card. Whoo hoo! But the down side of that means I have a lot less for the rest of the month’s budgetted expenses and even less for debt payment.

I still have enough for some debt and savings payments, so I’m put $100 towards savings (bringing my emergency fund to $625). I think I can pay money towards debt, but I am making myself wait until I get my next paycheck to make sure I don’t have any shortfalls.

I did just submit a claim for the first aid kit. I’m not sure how long it will take to get the check, but I expect it will be about 2 weeks. As soon as I do, I will put it 100% towards the line of credit principal. I still think I’ll have at least $2-300 additional to put towards debt. I had a $400 starting balance in my checking account which is partly why I’m able to afford both the new computer and my expended large debt payment this month.

So even with such a huge credit card statement, I still feel like I’m on track. I just hope I won’t have any more big unexpected purchases for a while (note that the laptop was expected, but a bit earlier than I had planned for).

Leave a Reply

