New year, new salary (I got a raise)!

January 11, 2009 at 11:52 am (work) (, , , )

January. The dreaded performance review. I had a crappy night, been recovering from working until 1 am 2 nights ago (the overtime is amazing, but it really screws me up for 1 or 2 days after), didn’t get enough sleep, and felt like crap all day – not just tired, but actually shakey. I had to give several reviews for a few people in my department, as well as have my own. It was not looking to be a good day.

I have a job that’s very eventful, dealing with clients, doing a lot of troubleshooting, and on-the-fly schedule changes. It’s a very fine balancing act. It can have a lot of last minute emergencies, heated emotions (both from crew and clients), and mad scramble dashes to get done by the end of the day. I got promoted to assistant manager this past fall, with a bit of a raise to go with it. Our company has had a bad year (outside of the economy), and next year promises to be even harder, with the economy tanking like I expect it to. We already got the news that our department wasn’t getting a bonus. However, I still expected to get a raise. I had an inside guestimation, since I’ve been giving small raises to some people under me.

I did well, I know I’m valued, and I love my job and the people I work with (most of the time). I got the small raise I expected. Nothing amazing, but hey, nice! Everything helps, right? I had a bunch of my own objectives and had a bunch more added on by my manager. It’s actually a lot to do, but I know I can get it done. Then, at the end of the day, my boss comes in, and tells me he’s been thinking. After looking at my objectives, and all the stuff on my plate, he decided to increase my raise. How unexpected! Whoopie! How great is that?

With all the overtime I have, I think I can turn that into quite a hefty chunk of extra debt payments this year.

I celebrated by buying myself some nice gourmet coffee from Stumptown Coffee Roasters. Just a little, and at that price ($12 – I thought it was per pound but it was for 12 ounces. Ouch). So I’ll have it just for weekends. A budget present. Actually, I had already planned on buying some (after smelling in love with some a coworker brought to work), but now I’m turning it into a reward.

Here’s to prosperity in all the places we can find in 2009!

Leave a Reply

