Listmania

January 4, 2009 at 5:18 pm (tools & tips)

I have a thing for notebooks. I love looking at them. I love buying them. I love the idea of having them. But I rarely use them. Or use them well. Recently that changed.

About the same time I started looking into dealing with my debt, and the world of PF blogging (what a wonderful thing the internet is!), I started a book of lists. I have this little itsy bitsy notebook, and for once in my life, I decided not to worry about what I wrote in it. It didn’t need to remain for posterity, I didn’t need to make it look perfect. Instead, I started writing everything I wanted to remember, buy, lookup, you name it. I call it my book of lists. Let me tell you, it has made the debt journey a lot easier too!

I write my grocery lists in it. I write down recipes I want to try. I write down blogs I want to visit, or websites I want to check out, even when I’m not at my home computer (ie, such as being at work), or vice-versa. When I go to the bookstore, I write down the names of books I want to buy, but don’t. I go to the public library’s website and place hold on those books so I can read them for free.

I take my book of lists with me everywhere I go. I never know when I’ll need it. I am starting to feel naked the very few times I forget to bring it. If I couldn’t remember prices so well, I would use it to comparison shop and write down what things cost where. This book is my get-out-of-debt little helper. It’s cheaper than a blackberry – maybe you should get one too.

3 Comments

  1. Debtfree2009 said,

    I am such a list person. Problem is I have 50 billion little pieces of paper everywhere. I even bought 5 of those tiny notebooks to write everything in. I may try and find them and use one for a month or so and see how it goes.

  2. debtmaven said,

    Debtfree,

    It will work great if you do! The only thing I haven’t figured out is to handle the bits of paper or cards you get out in the world. I think maybe a small moleskin, with their pocket in the back cover, could also work.

    Let me know how it works out!

  3. Movingonup! said,

    I have a “list” book too! I write down books to pick up at the library, phone #’s, things to do. I keep it in my purse.

Leave a Reply

