Feeling Flush

December 11, 2008 at 3:28 pm (spending habits) (, , )

I was under budget for last month. I got an unexpected $400 check (my deductible for a recent car accident dropped because it was with an uninsured car). I decided to not put it towards debt or savings but to leave it in my account as a cushion since I am physically unable to balance my checkbook, and because the first paycheck of this month is super small and wasn’t going to be enough for my normal bills. However, I will definitely put all future unexpected income towards savings/debt.

There is one income source that I have not disclosed. My bf gives me his portion of the rent in cash every month. When I started 2 months ago, I wanted to keep this as free money, which quickly became buying a new laptop when I saved up enough. I’ve decided to put that into savings and keep it as my emergency fund, so the EF is going to grow a lot faster than I ever intended.

So I have $175 available to spend until next paycheck, for groceries and sundry expenses. All my bill obligations for the first half of the month are now met and I’m feeling flush with money. I feel like I can afford to go out for a nice meal for a change (but I’m still not sure I’ll do that). I’m also realizing I should buy the bf a nice christmas gift (haven’t budgetted or thought about that for the month, but I’m not going to buy much for anyone else, so it won’t be too bad). In fact, I feel successful. What a change from 2 months ago when I came out of the debt lawyers office a nervous wreck, wondering about bankruptcy, wondering if I should do it (I elected not to) and how the heck I was ever going to get out of the black hole of debt. Just having a plan in place and knowing what to expect has been the best part.

1 Comment

  1. ambercouric said,

    Sounds like you are making progress. Good luck with your journey.

Leave a Reply

