Budgetting Success!

December 5, 2008 at 5:20 pm (budget)

I made it the first full month under budget in every category but two, and they weren’t for very much. I’ve revised my budget downward slightly by $100. I’ve put a chunk towards debt (it would have been higher but I didn’t make as much as normal this past month), and saved 25% of my initial emergency fund. I lived frugally, I paid extra on debt, I paid all my bills on time (for the first time in a long while), and started the new month with enough to make it through to the next payday. I did all this with two extra small checks back to back ($2-300 less each due to holiday shorter hours, being horribly sick and missing lots of work and overtime). I’m constantly checking my balance and making sure I’m on track and keeping up my budget.

What an amazing feeling, knowing that I didn’t resort to blowing through all my money like usual, having to borrow from my personal loan to pay for things, and not having to resort to credit cards/loans to cover for rent the beginning of the month.

I can’t wait until I have a lot more income in the next bunches of paychecks! I also feel like this is completely sustainable. I don’t feel like I’ve cut corners, like I’m deprived, or that I’m missing out. Congratulations to me!

2 Comments

  1. brainy said,

    Congrats!

    You’re well on your way — I can’t tell you how quickly things start to move once you start getting a little momentum.

    Really, those debt stats over there on the right side — they’ll all show some major progress in a matter of months…

  2. debtmaven said,

    Thanks! It’s exciting, and honestly, a little fun. I mean, it sucks I can’t really travel or anything for a few years, but as it took a long while to get into this pickle, it’ll take some time to get out of it too. Feeling like I’m doing something about it is really empowering.

Leave a Reply

