Household of 2

November 10, 2008 at 10:33 pm (sharing expenses) (, , )

I’m in a relationship, we live together, and share expenses. That’s great, but there’s an element of stress involved when it comes to divvy-ing up the expenses. Here’s the scenario: I think ahead, know we need x+y+z from the store, petfood, etc, and go get it. Then I come home and bring up that I spent money on xyz +lmn. Here’s the total, he owes me half. He looks like he’s thinking about it, but he doesn’t say anything, and he doesn’t respond. I know he heard me, but there’s no reaction.

Should I be asking for cash in advance, cash when I get back, or what? I hate having to ask again, plus, it makes it a bitch when it comes to budgetting – I mean, I have a receipt for $60, but really only $30 of my own money is going towards it. Do I put the total or half the total down on my budget sheet? And then I have to go and ask again. He looks almost annoyed, but what can I do? We needed it and he’s going to use half of it…

I know, I know, I’m stuck on the details, but how do you handle this???

Leave a Reply

